Wrist injury 10m air pistol shooting

All shooting sports - ISSF/ IPSC/ HFT/ Sporting Clays etc.
rahulbdelhi
Almost at nirvana
Almost at nirvana

Wrist injury 10m air pistol shooting

Post by rahulbdelhi » Sun Apr 11, 2021 3:04 pm

Hi all,
Need some advice from experienced shooters regarding a weird problem I have been facing. I am a beginner air pistol shooter and have been shooting since last year. One morning during holding practice at home(with a dumbbell) I felt a sharp pain shoot-up on my wrist. Later there was a burning sensation on the inner wrist which also "spread" to my non-shooting hand. After that I could hardly lift my pistol or any other weights.

The injury took about 2 months to heal. But the pain keeps coming back every time I start shooting. I can barely shoot 10 shots before the burning sensation comes back. It usually lasts about a week.

Has anyone else faced a similar problem? Will this go away on its own should I continue with my shooting and holding practices?
I am worried so as not to do any long term damage to the tissues or tendons.

For Advertising mail webmaster
partheus
Almost at nirvana
Almost at nirvana

Re: Wrist injury 10m air pistol shooting

Post by partheus » Sun Apr 11, 2021 6:49 pm

Wow, your problem is quite similar to what I faced when I got started. I started training in 10 meter air pistol with my right hand even though I am a lefty. Ranges don't really keep any lefty pistols or rifles since almost all their students are right handed and they try and "convert" lefties to a right handed shooter saying since you never fired before, it won't matter which hand you start with.