Tips from a Trainer

All shooting sports - ISSF/ IPSC/ HFT/ Sporting Clays etc.
Raj Khalid
Learning the ropes
Learning the ropes

Tips from a Trainer

Post by Raj Khalid » Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:22 pm

Hi shooters, I am an old pistol shooter, old in age and in experience.
I started shooting in 1979 and I think there are only 2 of us still shooting competitively. I must confess my scores are nothing like they used to be.
In over 40 years of pistol shooting I have met many great shooters and coaches, visited many places where competitions take place and spoken to a lot of pistol shooters.

I call myself a trainer because someone once told me that "COACH" is a title for someone who has an established record of excellence at world level. Unless one has climbed Everest how can one tell others how to do this. Whereas a TRAINER can pass on thoughts, ideas which she/he has heard from others and the reader or listener can take them at what ever value they like.

In my opinion there are 3 levels of teaching,
INSTRUCTOR who can recite the basics of any skill
TRAINER one who has absorbed the above skills and put them into practice over many many years but not achieved International Success
COACH need I say anything more?

I will pass on tips from my experience over time and I welcome emails from sincere pistol shooters who would like to share my thoughts.

As a reference I look up to a few great shooters and whose thoughts I tend to believe in.
1) Ragnar Skanakar (What can I say about him that you dont know already)
2) Doc Darius Young the only person (at least that I know of) who has held all 5 ISSF Pistol Titles in the USA
3) Eric Buljung still the World record holder in Standard Pistol (584) whom I met over a week in 1981
4) Alan Westlake shooter and pistol smith extraordinaire who made the Britarms /22 pistol and still makes firearms according to the new laws in the UK
5) Geissmann and Heidigar from Hammerli who I met in 1985 when I visited their factory in Lenzburg