What does it take to start an air rifle only club in India?

The legal aspects of owning, shooting, importing arms/ ammo and other related legal aspects as well as any other legal queries. Please note: This INCLUDES all arms licensing issues/ queries!
mehulkamdar

What does it take to start an air rifle only club in India?

Post by mehulkamdar » Sat Jun 10, 2006 10:32 pm

Gentlemen,

Since air rifles are considered non firearms in India I wonder if it would be possible to start air rifle clubs there. What kind of legal regulations would have to be followed? Would someone be able to get these clubs to register with the NRAI? (Please note that I am being civil about these uber babus and that's a first for me since the early 1980s)

The reason for this is that hardly a generation ago many colleges had rifle ranges where 22 lrs were shot by the NCC etc - both the colleges where I studied, the Madras Christian College as well as Loyola had them and so does the Madras Medical College. These days it would not be possible to have this kind of facility and we have to look at city or district rifle clubs for those who graduate from college.

I have heard that India has the country's first military school for girls somewhere near Pune now and they had to be content with only an air rifle range for their students - if this presents no problems, it may be a good idea to encourage shooting sports by having air rifle only clubs in order to promote our sport and make it more popular. We would need just a regular wall as a backstop and targets could be cyclostyled or photocopied and distributed. There could be the 10 m ISSF matches as well as our own speed shooting matches as well...

Just thinking aloud and wondering about the regulatory and other processes. Anybody who knows the rules involved in this? ANyone with ideas?

Mehul

For Advertising mail webmaster
mehulkamdar

Post by mehulkamdar » Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:55 am

Come on, guys, didn;t think this would have required a BTT...