Renewal of Arms License under new act. Help!

The legal aspects of owning, shooting, importing arms/ ammo and other related legal aspects as well as any other legal queries. Please note: This INCLUDES all arms licensing issues/ queries!
StampMaster
One of Us (Nirvana)
One of Us (Nirvana)

Renewal of Arms License under new act. Help!

Post by StampMaster » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:29 am

Hello All,

With little to no knowledge of new arms act, i had submitted my AL to the concerned authority 3 weeks before the date, with renewal and late fee.

Do I also need to deposit the weapon at a dealer or the police station. As the renewal is expected to take a minimum of 2 months, due to the new act (which i am reading while posting here).

In this post viewtopic.php?t=24325, GBM clearly mentions not to deposit weapon, as it will make the process complicated to get back my weapon.

I am not aware with the 2016 rule and a family friend (also a lawyer by profession) has mentioned to deposit before the expiry date.

Kindly advice. Thanks.
”Criminals love gun control; it makes their jobs safer.”

For Advertising mail webmaster
pran80
Almost at nirvana
Almost at nirvana

Re: Renewal of Arms License under new act. Help!

Post by pran80 » Wed Apr 04, 2018 1:50 pm

Stamp master,
I got my licence renewed in 2017 in the state of UP. I applied for renewal I applied a month after my licence got expired and it took 2 months further to get it renewed. In the meantime the weapon was in my possession only and there were no problems.
Regards,
Pranjal

andy_65_in
Shooting true
Shooting true

Post by andy_65_in » Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:03 pm

You are required to show the weapon to the gun clerk once..thats all.Time taken depends upon how busy is the chap authorised to renew your licence.I hope you have a UIN number..that will speed up the process .

sathvik
Almost at nirvana
Almost at nirvana

Post by sathvik » Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:42 pm

Dear sir .