QUERY || Permission for possession of Khukuri knife

The legal aspects of owning, shooting, importing arms/ ammo and other related legal aspects as well as any other legal queries. Please note: This INCLUDES all arms licensing issues/ queries!
bhasker
Fresh on the boat
Fresh on the boat

QUERY || Permission for possession of Khukuri knife

Post by bhasker » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:40 am

Gentlemen,

I am beginning this thread, since I am not able to find out the correct rules and procedures required to purchase and possess a Khukuri.
I am really confused with all the topics on Internet in regard to this. Kindly throw a light on this topic.

I am a 20 year old student studying at Bangalore. I am an aspirant to join the Indian Army and have earned my NCC "C" Certificate. My father is an Air Force officer. I have been greatly influenced by the gallants and bravery of the soldiers of Gorkha Rifles. Hence, I wished to purchase a Khukuri Knife.

Though I have contacted on of the sellers in Dehradun to purchase a Khukuri, but he has also informed about the risks involved in purchasing and then transporting a Khukuri without the proper permissions.
Hence, I checked the rules and regulations with a Police Inspector in Bangalore City Police. He told me that an Arms License is compulsory for possession of Knife beyond 9 inch length. Further, telling me that I should also refer to Arms Act 1959 and I should obtain an Arms License before purchasing the Khukuri, in order to avoid any troubles in future.
I approached the Arms Licensing Department of Bangalore City Police. They constantly argued and opposed that an Arms License cannot be granted for a Knife. The Incharge Superintendent and other officials of the Arms Licensing Department constantly opposed me for this and did not agree to accept any applications for grant of Arms License.