The Land of Trumpet, Roar n Song.

Past and future planned - events/ outings/ training sessions/ offline meets/ camps/ matches etc.
prashantsingh
Poster of the Month - Aug 2011

The Land of Trumpet, Roar n Song.

Post by prashantsingh » Thu Jun 12, 2014 8:29 am

It was after I had shot my first maneater (as part of a Shikar team) that a friend of mine, Dushyant, came up to me with a request.
A pathologist by profession,Dr Dushyant has a keen interest in photography. We have known each other for a couple of decades now and over the years I have rubbed the wildlife bug on to him. Dushyant is a fantastic photographer. He has been awarded with the Governor's award in Nature Photography and the Chief Minister's award in the Landscape section. His photographs have been shortlisted and exhibited in competitions in Delhi. For the past 5 years he has picked up wildlife as a subject. Unfortunately he has never seen a leopard or a tiger in the wild.
"I will show you both within a year provided you are willing to rough it out with me." I bragged. The hangover of the maneater hunt was still on and like a fool I made this promise.
It was only later that I realised the tough task ahead.
15 June. All National Parks in the state close for the monsoon. The cosways get flodded and the jungle roads get washed away. It is only after 4 months that the parks open again.
Time was running out and I had yet to fulfill my commitment. Our 4 previous trips to the Parks including one with fellow IFG member Zaheer Bakshi (were we spotted fresh pug marks) and the other with Corbett 99 (a fresh sambhar kill) had proved futile.We had come very close to spotting the King of the Indian jungle but the beast had eluded us.
It was now or never.

To make matters worse I posted:
"Leopard on Sunday. Tiger on Monday."On Dushyant's facebook page.
The pressure (on me) was building up.
My plan was simple.
It was peak summer with temperatures rising to 40 plus degree C.