bluing help needed..........

This is the place for discussing gun care, custom work, repairs and ask related technical questions.
savage
On the way to nirvana
On the way to nirvana

bluing help needed..........

Post by savage » Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:51 pm

hey guyz can anybody help me in telling what is bluing of a gun pls help as i am a novice in this forum :stupid:

For Advertising mail webmaster
nikhilsharma
Fresh on the boat
Fresh on the boat

Re: bluing help needed..........

Post by nikhilsharma » Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:16 pm

Bluing is a passivation process in which steel is partially protected against rust, and is named after the blue-black appearance of the resulting protective finish. True gun bluing is an electrochemical conversion coating resulting from an oxidizing chemical reaction with iron on the surface selectively forming magnetite (Fe3O4), the black oxide of iron, which occupies the same volume as metallic iron[citation needed]. Black oxide provides minimal protection against corrosion, unless also treated with a water-displacing oil to reduce wetting and galvanic action.

In contrast, rust, the red oxide of iron (Fe2O3), does not occupy the same volume as iron, thereby causing the typical reddish rusting away of iron. Both "cold" and "hot" oxidizing processes are called bluing, but only the "hot" process provides any significant rust and corrosion resistance, and then only when also treated with an oiled coating.
Peace,
Nikhil
"Ours not to reason why, Ours but to do and die" - Lord Alfred Tennyson

savage
On the way to nirvana
On the way to nirvana

Post by savage » Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:08 pm

thank you you have been so informative but can u tell me where it can be done near nagpur?

dr.jayakumar
Veteran
Veteran

Post by dr.jayakumar » Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:12 pm