Self Defence Ammo Advise for 12 Bore

Ammunition, accessories and shooting-related gear & equipment - including Optics and Sights.
jsvirk
Fresh on the boat
Fresh on the boat

Self Defence Ammo Advise for 12 Bore

Post by jsvirk » Sun Dec 18, 2016 3:29 pm

Hi Everyone

I seek advise from you all on the best ammo to be bought for my 12 bore double barrel gun for home defense. I don't intend to purchase ammo which only makes sound but is effective in case i ever need to use it in inflicting damage to the other party.

I'll be obliged if you can be specific in which brand is recommended alongwith other specific details as i am new to this.

Thanks

For Advertising mail webmaster
goodboy_mentor
Old Timer
Old Timer

Re: Self Defence Ammo Advise for 12 Bore

Post by goodboy_mentor » Sun Dec 18, 2016 8:16 pm

Depending upon distance you want to hit the target, cartridge firing rifled slug would hit the longest. These can penetrate and go through wooden doors, windows or ricochet off from walls like rifle bullet. So you will have to be very careful while firing them. Next would be the one with single circular ball. The gun dealers used to call it ball cartridge. I do not know if they are available these days because rifled slugs provide better accuracy and range. Next would be LG and SG cartridges but they are banned. So no question about buying them. Then would be cartridge numbered No. 1. More you go for higher numbers the shot size will be getting smaller and smaller. It means shot will have less range and spread more. Personally I would prefer rifled slugs over other shot sizes since LG and SG are banned. I am sure other members more experienced and knowledgeable about this matter will be able to tell more and correct me if I am wrong.
"If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your State, it probably means that you built your State on my land" - Musa Anter, Kurdish writer, assassinated by the Turkish secret services in 1992

mundaire
We post a lot
We post a lot