tempering knives..

All Things Sharp and Pointed: compound and crossbows, knives and swords.
Pran
Eminent IFG'an
Eminent IFG'an

tempering knives..

Post by Pran » Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:22 pm

hi.i'm new to making knives and have a few doubts about tempering knives. i've used a piece of old spring steel(5160--straightened) to make a knife.i had to anneal it to get a workable temper.now that i've gotten it to the desired shape, i'll have to increase the temper.i plan to use old motor oil for quenching.do i have to heat the oil before quenching the knife in it??

For Advertising mail webmaster
eljefe
Old Timer
Old Timer

Post by eljefe » Sat Nov 25, 2006 10:15 pm

HI Pran,
great to meet a fellow knife lover.
Very impressive, your annealing and tempering foray.Some books I've read do mention about warming up the oil a wee bit, while others do not-suggest you do a google search on oil quenching?
please post pics of the blade blank and whatever process you decide to undertake.
Best
Axx
''It dont mean a thing, if it aint got that zing!''

"...Oh but if I went 'round sayin' I was Emperor, just because some moistened bint lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away..."

Mark
Veteran
Veteran

Re: tempering knives..

Post by Mark » Sat Nov 25, 2006 11:25 pm

Pran,

Welcome to the forums!

In general, you do not need to heat the oil unless the blade is very thin, such as a straight razor.

Having said that, warming the oil is almost never a bad thing and it can be of help, so go ahead and do it if you feel like it.

How are you heating your blade, with a forge or torch or something else?

If using a forge, a simple way to heat the oil is just put a thick metal bar in the fire then when hot put it in the oil for a few minutes and it will heat it adequately.