Teflon in Airguns

All posts related to air-guns (air-rifles, airsoft, air-pistols, air-guns etc.).
eljefe
Old Timer
Old Timer

Teflon in Airguns

Post by eljefe » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:20 pm

Thanks Guys for the extensive info on acid free silicon grease
I am a total newbie to the airguns and have a query-what about using teflon containing sprays like BREAK FREE on air gun seals and gaskets etc?
I dont know if I should be asking, what does the forum feel about using PTFE gaskets? any one tried this out? may be wishful thinking, but eljefe has to ask his silly question of the week :oops:
Thanks
Axx
''It dont mean a thing, if it aint got that zing!''

"...Oh but if I went 'round sayin' I was Emperor, just because some moistened bint lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away..."

For Advertising mail webmaster
Mack The Knife
We post a lot
We post a lot

Re: Teflon in Airguns

Post by Mack The Knife » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:00 pm

Asif,

I have taken the liberty to change air weapons to airguns, for the same reason you don't refer to your scalpel as a weapon.

I have used PTFE piston washers but haven't experimented with teflon sprays. The former works reasonably well.

Mack The Knife

steyrshot
Learning the ropes
Learning the ropes

Post by steyrshot » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:33 pm

Hmmm ... teflon :shock:

Well ive seen teflon strips used on the threads of older cylinders ... that may have started leaking a bit ... ive even seen how teflon is used to attach the nozzle on a 200 bar 10 -30 ltr refill cylinder, apparently is part of the standard process if your changing out a nozzle anytime.

Cant comment on how effective teflon would be in a air gun though ... logic dictates that it may work as a lubricant... but it still wont condition the rubber.