Gun license for NRI

Posts related to rifles.
Jeet1983
Fresh on the boat
Fresh on the boat

Gun license for NRI

Post by Jeet1983 » Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:26 am

Hello IFGs,

I was wondering of someone can guide me with a few questions regarding transferring rifles to your name in India.

My grandfather had 3 rifles which were transferred to my father's name. Unfortunately my father passed away and the guns had to transferred to someone else's name. At the time I was a college student in the United States, and my distant relatives informed me that the rifles cannot be put on my name as I'm not an Indian Citizen and they transferred all 3 Rifles on their names. Me being a woman and not having that many relatives to ask for help trusted these people. Now I am skeptical about their intentions and would like to bring these rifles to United States if possible or at least get them on my name in India.

I did some research and found that I need to get a dealer here United States to import the guns here and get in touch with the port authority. I will figure out the process here in the US. But I was wondering if you could briefly guide me how I can get the Guns on my name in India.

Do I need a Gun License in India in order to transfer the guns in my name? Is it a long process?
I am planning to get the Guns on my Husband's name who is a Greencard holder. (Indian Citizen)

Any help/feedback would be much appreciated!
Look forward.

Best,
Jeet

For Advertising mail webmaster
Anand
Shooting true
Shooting true

Re: Gun license for NRI

Post by Anand » Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:19 pm

Hello Ms.Jeet,