defensive loads for shotguns

Posts related to shotguns.
eljefe
Old Timer
Old Timer

defensive loads for shotguns

Post by eljefe » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:37 pm

With buck shot not being manufactured anymore, shotgun owners are limited to using birdshot as an all purpose round.
I am still searching for info on using frangible projectiles or something MORE lethal than birdshot for home defense.
Pal of mine suggests that if a regular steel or Stainless steel 'disc' of 12.5mm dia and 12.5mm height is cut into 4 sections like a pie and two such discs (total of 8 pcs)reloaded into a reduced charge 2 inch shell in a nylon or teflon sabot, may work well (with all the edges offered!)
The nylon sabot I guess will have to be bought in .75 inch dia and reduced in a lathe to appropriate size?
I have no experience of steel shot, leave alone steel 'bunker busters' as this sounds to me!
Any inputs ?
Best
Axx
''It dont mean a thing, if it aint got that zing!''

"...Oh but if I went 'round sayin' I was Emperor, just because some moistened bint lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away..."

For Advertising mail webmaster
mundaire
We post a lot
We post a lot

Re: defensive loads for shotguns

Post by mundaire » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:04 pm

Asif,

Most shotguns available in India are very old and not designed to take "steel" shot... if used, it can cause serious damage to the gun and/ or injury...

I would imagine the same applies to projectiles as well... Have heard of some idiots repacking shotshells with steel ball bearings... :shock: err, wish 'em luck!

There is a private manufacturer - I think Shaktiman brand, which manufactures a kind of shotshell with a hollow cylindrical metal projectile that upon being fired, separates into 4 projectiles - thus circumventing the silly legal prohibition on shotshells with multiple large diameter shot/ projectiles.