Reloading 12ga slugs

Posts related to shotguns.
eljefe
Old Timer
Old Timer

Reloading 12ga slugs

Post by eljefe » Sun Jan 26, 2020 7:39 am

I have a cylinder chokes Mossberg 20” bbl Thunder ranch shotgun and decided to make some slug loads
Since the kids also use it, loaded them ‘soft’
Lee 1oz slug cast from pure lead and epoxy coated with Hitek as lube. I’ve been using Hitek for a few years and with 18BHN cast Bullets I’m able to achieve 2200fps with .404 and 7x57. So the limitations of using cast at 1800fps or less are no constraint.

Since wad building is quite a science by it self, I go the easy way- using cork I punch out from 9mm thick placemats and use cut off and reversed plastic wads to act a a concentric bullet holder.
Powder is AP70
Roll crimper- home made, because I love the old style looks
Primers-Winchester 209
Shells- eclectic collection of what I have, most cut to 2.5”

I have used the same slugs loaded up HOT for my self with the same shotgun and red dot sight for a 2” group at 30m resting on a fence post.

I hope to test them out soon. Pics coming soon
''It dont mean a thing, if it aint got that zing!''

"...Oh but if I went 'round sayin' I was Emperor, just because some moistened bint lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away..."

For Advertising mail webmaster
Sakobav
Old Timer
Old Timer

Re: Reloading 12ga slugs

Post by Sakobav » Sun Jan 26, 2020 7:51 am

some pictures for us informed Senor Eljefe ; so we can see and learn from masters of trade

Cheers

eljefe
Old Timer
Old Timer

Post by eljefe » Sun Jan 26, 2020 8:32 am

Coming,Navi. Need help in resizing the pics to the format of the forum
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

"...Oh but if I went 'round sayin' I was Emperor, just because some moistened bint lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away..."

mundaire
We post a lot
We post a lot

Post by mundaire » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:35 pm

Doc, have attached the photos as requested :)

Cheers!